Board 1 (back side)




The communications in the Valley

Sometimes difficult conditions

 

You probably arrived at the Vallée de Joux by car, by train or maybe even by bike or on foot!

 

Train lines arrived from Vallorbe into the Vallée as of 1886. Their construction had been decided by the ice company of Le Pont which had its quarters near the lake of Brenet in 1879. They considered that such heavy and bulky charge should not be transported by carriers and horses from Vallorbe to Croy because these transports used to ruin the streets. Using the rail seemed much more adapted. This project was soon taken up by a company called the Railway Le Pont-Vallorbe. The line was built within two years, starting in 1884. It brought with it the digging of the tunnel of Les Epoisats.

 

Winter 1907. It takes two locomotives to face the steep slope of Epinettes
Winter 1907. It takes two locomotives to face the steep slope of Epinettes

 

A navigation company was founded in 1889 which made it possible, though irregularly, to get to the other side of the Vallée with a little steamer called ‘Caprice’. At the same time, a stagecoach service went both ways within the valley.

 

The rail line Le Pont - Les Brassus, a direct extension of the line Le Pont-Vallorbe, was inaugurated in 1899. The line Vallorbe-Le Brassus offered a widely appreciated service of the area, even though one must also state that they often found themselves in deficit position due to the high maintenance cost linked to mobile and fixed material exposed to tough mountain climate.

 

Inauguration of "Le Pont-Vallorbe" on 30th October 1886
Inauguration of "Le Pont-Vallorbe" on 30th October 1886
"Le Pont-Brassus" was inaugurated on 19th August 1899
"Le Pont-Brassus" was inaugurated on 19th August 1899

 

Soon after this last leg became operational, the stagecoach service on the west bank of the river was discontinued. It continued its service on the other side of the riverbank which wasn’t connected to the railway yet. It was replaced by the services of the car transport company of the Vallée de Joux (AVJ) as of 1920.  

 

The street was nevertheless of first priority. You can get to the valley through the Mollendruz pass from Mount-la-Ville, through the one from Pétra-Félix, from Vaulion?–?and the two streets join on this site. You can also reach it by going through the pass of Mont d’Orzeires, starting from Vallorbe and passing through a border passage called Poteau (pole) as well as the important French village of Mouthe along the villages of Charbonnière or Séchey. 

 

At the far west of the valley, a road leads to Bois-d’Amont – Les Rousses to the Vallée, whereas a direct way to the plains from Les Brassus can be taken through the pass of Marchairuz. This road was built in the middle of the 18th century. For many years, it was closed during winter because of heavy snowfall on its higher parts, but now, it is open all year.

 

The first bus of the AVJ
The first bus of the AVJ

 

Let us note that the junction with Vallorbe used to be reached through the street of Les Epoisats which follows the base of the Dent de Vaulion. You can see a segment of this old street during your Romantic walkway. The landmarks that bordered the street can still be seen when ascending the church.  

 

When Moïse Rochat opened the roads of the Valley
When Moïse Rochat opened the roads of the Valley

 

The difficulty to maintain such a network of transports during the winter, streets and rail alike, must have been considerable. But with enough determination, they always managed to disengage the way. We must note nevertheless that in the beginning of 1907 and due to enormous snowfall, the train was blocked for four days in Les Brassus, from 2nd to 6th February. Many pictures witness of these exceptional days during which the number of workers equipped with a shovel was simply amazing.

 

Nowadays, our trains and buses offer efficient services in all situations.

 

The old road from Le Pont to Vallorbe by the valley of the Epoisats was formidable during winter
The old road from Le Pont to Vallorbe by the valley of the Epoisats was formidable during winter

 

One of the ‘visitors’ of that time, in the beginning of the 20th century, wrote the following in a moving and grateful letter he sent to his hosts :

The Vallée de Joux, sojourn of good days !

 

The boat "Caprice II" animates in summer our beautiful "Lac de Joux" © Edition Deriaz Baulmes
The boat "Caprice II" animates in summer our beautiful "Lac de Joux" © Edition Deriaz Baulmes

Political system

 

The Vallée de Joux is formed by three municipalities : Le Lieu – L’Abbaye — Le Chenit.

 

The village Le Pont, as well as the villages of L’Abbaye and Bioux, band together as the municipality of L’Abbaye whose creation dates back to 1571, the time it detached itself from the mother municipality Le Lieu. The three villages make up the municipality of L’Abbaye, but have this particularity: they each have their own administration with a board as executive power led by its head, the president of the village, and a general council as legislative power. 

 

Coat of Arms of L’Abbaye

Coat of Arms of Le Pont

Coat of Arms of Les Bioux


 

The village of Le Pont has its own church, mountains, three cottages and many forests. The school also used to be within its legal competences. 

 

This particular administration, assimilated with a split from the commune on legal grounds in 1710, the time of a debate on fractioning the general commune into three entirely independent entities. This project was only partially carried out with the structure of these three administrations in each village at the time. 

 

The split of the pastures, until then dealt with by the commune, was arranged only 50 years later, on the 5th of September 1768. This had provoked numerous discussions and the organisation of a major legal arsenal. The issue stirred up a lot of noise, to the point that later on, it was this date that was considered as the founding date of these three villages, which in reality had taken place half a century earlier.

 

Each one has its own coat of arms except for the village of L’Abbaye whose coat of arms is the same as the general commune one.

Panneau 1 (verso)




Les communications à la Vallée

Des conditions parfois difficiles

 

Votre arrivée à la Vallée de Joux s’est faite soit en voiture, soit en train, de manière moins certaine à vélo ou même à pied !

 

Le train arriva à la Vallée de Vallorbe en 1886. Sa construction avait été décidée par la Société des glacières du Pont installée au bord du lac Brenet en 1879. Celle-ci voyait en effet la nécessité de transporter une matière aussi volumineuse et lourde que la glace directement par wagons et non plus par chars et chevaux jusqu’à Vallorbe puis jusqu’à Croy, car ce mode de transport défonçait les routes. Projet tôt repris par une Société dite du chemin de fer Le Pont-Vallorbe. La ligne fut construite en deux ans dès 1884. Elle vit le percement du tunnel des Epoisats.

 

Hiver 1907. Il faut deux locomotives pour affronter la raide pente des Epinettes
Hiver 1907. Il faut deux locomotives pour affronter la raide pente des Epinettes

 

Une compagnie de navigation fut créée en 1889, qui permettait, mais cela de manière très aléatoire, de joindre l’autre bout de la Vallée avec un petit bateau à vapeur appelé «Caprice». En même temps fonctionnait un service de diligence des deux côtés de la Vallée.

Le chemin de fer Pont-Brassus, prolongation directe de la ligne Le Pont-Vallorbe, fut inauguré en 1899. La ligne Vallorbe – Le Brassus allait désormais rendre d’appréciables services à la région, bien qu’il faille retenir que son exploitation fut souvent déficitaire en raison des grands frais liés à l’entretien du matériel fixe ou mobile soumis aux rigueurs d’un climat de montagne.

 

Inauguration en grandes pompes du Le Pont-Vallorbe le 30 octobre 1886
Inauguration en grandes pompes du Le Pont-Vallorbe le 30 octobre 1886
Le Pont-Brassus a été inauguré le 19 août 1899
Le Pont-Brassus a été inauguré le 19 août 1899

 

Sitôt après l’installation de ce dernier tronçon, le service diligence de la rive occidentale fut abandonné. Par contre il demeura encore vingt ans sur la rive orientale qui n’avait pas obtenu le chemin de fer. Il fut remplacé par les services de la Compagnie auto-transports Vallée de Joux (AVJ) dès 1920.

 

La route resta toujours de première nécessité. On entre à la Vallée par le col du Mollendruz dès Mont-la-Ville, par celui de Pétra-Félix, dès Vaulion – les deux routes se joignent à ce site. On y arrive aussi par le col du Mont d’Orzeires dès Vallorbe, par le passage frontière dit du Poteau, dès l’important village français de Mouthe aux villages des Charbonnières ou du Séchey. A l’extrémité ouest de la Vallée, une route rejoint Bois-d’Amont - Les Rousses à la Vallée, tandis que la liaison directe avec la plaine dès le Brassus se fait par le col du Marchairuz. Cette route fut construite au milieu du XVIIIe siècle. Elle fut longtemps fermée l’hiver en raison des abondantes chutes de neige sur les hauteurs.

 

Depuis une vingtaine d’années, elle reste cependant praticable tout l’hiver en raison de l’important développement horloger de la région Sentier-Brassus.

 

Le premier bus de l’AVJ
Le premier bus de l’AVJ

 

Notons que la jonction avec Vallorbe se faisait autrefois par la route des Epoisats serpentant au pied de la Dent de Vaulion. Vous retrouverez un segment de cette ancienne voie lors de la promenade romantique. Les bornes qui délimitaient cette route sont encore visibles aujourd’hui en amont de l’église

 

Quand Moïse Rochat ouvrait les routes de la Vallée
Quand Moïse Rochat ouvrait les routes de la Vallée

 

Les difficultés étaient certes grandes l’hiver d’entretenir un tel réseau de communications, tant routes que chemin de fer. Avec ténacité on réussissait pourtant toujours l’exploit de dégager l’ensemble. Notons quand même qu’au début de 1907, en raison d’incroyables chutes de neige, le train fut bloqué pendant quatre jours au Brassus, soit du 2 au 6 février. De nombreuses photos témoignent de ces journées exceptionnelles où le nombre des travailleurs mis à la pelle fut tout simplement prodigieux.

 

Aujourd’hui trains et bus offrent toujours des services efficaces et de toute première nécessité.

 

L’ancienne route du Pont à Vallorbe par le vallon des Epoisats était redoutable l’hiver
L’ancienne route du Pont à Vallorbe par le vallon des Epoisats était redoutable l’hiver

 

Un «villégiateur» d’autrefois, au début du XXe siècle, l’avait écrit dans une lettre attachante envoyée en remerciement à ses hôtes :

La Vallée de Joux, séjour des beaux jours !

 

Le Caprice II anime en belle saison notre si beau lac de Joux © Edition Deriaz Baulmes
Le Caprice II anime en belle saison notre si beau lac de Joux © Edition Deriaz Baulmes

Système politique

Trois communes forment la Vallée de Joux : Le Lieu – L’Abbaye – Le Chenit

 

Les villages du Pont, de L’Abbaye et des Bioux, font partie de la commune de L’Abbaye, dont la création, après qu’elle se soit détachée de la commune mère du Lieu, date de 1571. Les trois villages ont cette particularité que, tout en constituant la commune de l’Abbaye, ils possèdent une administration propre. Avec un Conseil administratif, l’exécutif, à sa tête le Président du village, et un Conseil général, le législatif.

 

Armoiries de l’Abbaye

D’or au rencontre d’ours de sable, chargée d’une bande de gueules à trois coquilles du champ.

Armoiries du Pont

D’azur à la truite contournée au naturel, accompagnée en chef d’un brochet au naturel et en pointe d’un pont voûté d’argent, maçonné de sable, enjambant un torrent d’argent.

Armoiries des Bioux

D’azur à un bouleau mouvant d’une terrasse, adextré d’un burinet senestré d’une lime, le tout d’argent.


 

Le village du Pont est propriétaire d’une église, de montagnes avec trois chalets, ainsi que de nombreuses forêts. L’école était autrefois de ses compétences.

Cette administration particulière, assimilée à une fraction de commune sur le plan légal, date de 1710, alors que l’on parlait de fractionner la commune générale en trois entités complètement indépendantes. Ce projet ne se réalisa qu’en partie avec la mise sur pied de ces trois administrations de village.

Le partage des pâturages, jusqu’alors toujours gérés par la commune, se fit un demi-siècle plus tard, le 5 septembre 1768. Ce fut là l’occasion de discussions sans nombre et de la mise en route d’un important arsenal juridique. L’affaire fit grand bruit, au point que plus tard on en vint à considérer cette date comme celle de la vraie naissance des trois villages pourtant plus vieux d’un bon demi-siècle.

Chacun de ceux-ci possède ses armoiries, sauf le village de l’Abbaye dont les armes se confondent avec celles de la commune générale.