Panel 5




Tribute to Tell Rochat (1898-1939)

 

Son of a farmer, he was born in Places, a group of houses situated above Le Pont, along the road that joins this village to Pétra-Félix. He was destined to join the family farm, but, still quite young; he was drawn to painting, creating his first work when he was 14. It was an oil painting depicting his family’s life. The setting is the front of the house in which he was born, a subject that Tell, throughout his painting career, will return to again and again.

 

Self-portrait of the artist
Self-portrait of the artist

 

Later, after his twentieth year, Tell will leave the paternal home in search of art. He goes to different painting academies, notably in Lausanne and Paris. He travels a lot. He returns home often to give his parents a hand with the harvest. But however, his path is henceforth clear: he will be a painter.

 

Henri-Samuel Rochat, the father of the artist. Julie-Mélanie Aubert was his mother; originally from Le Chenit, she came to Le Pont and worked there as a gemsetter in the "Tantolet". The couple had 11 children
Henri-Samuel Rochat, the father of the artist. Julie-Mélanie Aubert was his mother; originally from Le Chenit, she came to Le Pont and worked there as a gemsetter in the "Tantolet". The couple had 11 children

 

Tell Rochat remains single, and thus devotes himself entirely to his passion. He suffers from diabetes. This illness disables him. Even the climate of the Valley of Joux turns out to be too hard for him. He buys a small home in the lowlands, in Villars-sous-Yens.

 

The parental home of Tell Rochat, Les Places, with his father and his mother, a brother and a sister. There was not only life, but also love
The parental home of Tell Rochat, Les Places, with his father and his mother, a brother and a sister. There was not only life, but also love

 

If up to this point, his work has been especially attached to the sites which he discovered during his numerous trips; it is the Valley of Joux which he will never forget and paint thoroughly; but his newly adopted earth suddenly confides overpowering attraction for him. As a result, he paints numerous canvasses of the Foot of Jura, whose soft lines accord with his style. He notably excels in painting the fields of ripe wheat at harvest time, with its famous ‘moyettes’: piles of sheaves of wheat lying in the fields. He reveals a masterly brushstroke, a little like Van Gogh. There are veritable masterpieces in his output.

 

A lake, a mountain, featured by Tell Rochat
A lake, a mountain, featured by Tell Rochat

 

Tell Rochat exhibited regularly, notably numerous times in the big hall of his village, where he acquired some success. The criticisms, not from a circle of people learned about painting, but from journalists, were not however always favourable. They found it rather difficult to penetrate into this work, which is certainly irregular, but has true gems amongst its mass of 700 works.

 

A seascape in the style of Renoir. Tell loved the north of France
A seascape in the style of Renoir. Tell loved the north of France

 

Tell also excelled at portrait painting. In it, more than in the rest of his production, he showed himself a grand master. His self-portraits are always splendid; those of his friends are full of tenderness. One senses in his work and in this genre a definite influence of Cézanne.

 

He died without knowing that lovers of his paintings will never forget him !

 

Is this Paris? Tell knew how to capture a certain moment; here the presence of three mysterious people in the front
Is this Paris? Tell knew how to capture a certain moment; here the presence of three mysterious people in the front
A later time of his life, when Tell Rochat, now living in Pied-du-Jura, paints motives from the area; for example this admirable sheaves that almost seem to be alive with their heads bowed as in devotion
A later time of his life, when Tell Rochat, now living in Pied-du-Jura, paints motives from the area; for example this admirable sheaves that almost seem to be alive with their heads bowed as in devotion
A still life where Tell Rochat has probably reached the peak of his art
A still life where Tell Rochat has probably reached the peak of his art

Schild 5




Hommage an Tell Rochat (1898-1939)

 

Der Sohn eines Bauers wurde in Places geboren, den Häusern oberhalb von Le Pont, am Rande der Strasse die das Dorf mit Pétra-Félix verbindet. Er war dazu bestimmt, den Familienbetrieb zu übernehmen. Aber sehr jung schon war er von der Malerei angezogen und malte sein erstes Werk im Alter von vierzehn Jahren. Es handelt sich um ein Ölbild welches als Thema die Familie hat. Die Kulisse besteht aus der Ansicht der Vorderseite seines Geburtshauses welches Tell im Verlauf seiner ganzen Karriere immer wieder malen wird. 

 

Selbstbildnis des Künstlers
Selbstbildnis des Künstlers

 

Nachdem er das zwanzigste Lebensjahr erreicht hat, verlässt Tell das Vaterhaus immer wieder, um sich auf die Suche nach Kunst zu machen. Il besucht verschieden Akademien, unter anderem die in Lausanne und Paris. Er reist viel. Er kehrt von Zeit zu Zeit in das Haus seiner Eltern zurück, um ihnen bei der Ernte zu helfen. Aber trotzdem ist sein Weg schon gezeichnet, er wird Maler werden.

 

Henri-Samuel Rochat, der Vater des Künstlers. Julie-Mélanie Aubert war seine Mutter; sie war ursprünglich aus Le Chenit nach Le Pont gekommen und arbeitete da als Edelsteinfasserin im "Tantolet". Das Ehepaar hatte 11 Kinder
Henri-Samuel Rochat, der Vater des Künstlers. Julie-Mélanie Aubert war seine Mutter; sie war ursprünglich aus Le Chenit nach Le Pont gekommen und arbeitete da als Edelsteinfasserin im "Tantolet". Das Ehepaar hatte 11 Kinder

 

Tell Rochat, der ledig bleiben wird, wird sich völlig seiner Leidenschaft widmen. Er hat Diabetes. Diese Krankheit behindert ihn. Das Klima im Vallée de Joux stellt sich als zu schwer zu ertragen für ihn. Aus diesem Grund kauft er sich ein Haus in der Ebene, in Villars-sous-Yens. 

 

Das Elternhaus von Tell Rochat, Les Places, mit seinem Vater und seiner Mutter, einem Bruder und einer Schwester. Hier gibt es nicht nur Leben, sondern auch Liebe
Das Elternhaus von Tell Rochat, Les Places, mit seinem Vater und seiner Mutter, einem Bruder und einer Schwester. Hier gibt es nicht nur Leben, sondern auch Liebe

 

Bis anhin war sein Werk vor allem durch die Orte inspiriert, die er auf seinen zahlreichen Reisen entdeckt hatte, aber auch durch das Vallée de Joux, das er nie vergessen wird und das er in verschiedenen Formen wiedergeben wird. Er verspürt später aber er eine unwiderstehliche Anziehungskraft für seine neue Adoptivheimat. Als Folge davon wird er zahlreiche Bilder der Jurafusskette malen, deren sanfte Linien seinem Stil entsprechen. Er glänzt vor allem darin, die reifen Weizenfelder zum Zeitpunkt der Ernte zu malen, mit diesen berühmten "Garben" in welche die Weizenbüschel auf den Feldern gebunden werden. Er zeigt dort einen meisterlichen Pinselstrich, ähnlich dessen von Van Gogh. In seiner Sammlung gibt es wahre Kunststücke.

 

Ein See, ein Berg, von Tell Rochat dargestellt
Ein See, ein Berg, von Tell Rochat dargestellt

 

Tell Rochat stellte regelmässig aus. Er tat dies unter anderen im grossen Saal seines Dorfes, wo er einigen Erfolg erntete. Die Kritiken, die nicht von den Mengen seiner Bewunderer verfasst wurden, sondern von Journalisten, waren hingegen nicht immer zu seinem Vorteil, da sie einige Mühe hatten, die Tiefe seiner Werke zu verstehen. Sein Werk war sicherlich unregelmässig, umfasst aber trotzdem eine Gesamtanzahl von über 700 Bildern, wahre Schmuckstücke.

 

Ein Seegemälde im Style Renoirs. Tell liebte den Norden Frankreichs
Ein Seegemälde im Style Renoirs. Tell liebte den Norden Frankreichs

 

Tell glänzte auch im Porträt malen. In dem, mehr noch als für den Rest seiner Produktion, zeigte er sich als grosser Meister. Seine Selbstbildnisse sind immer wunderschön, die der Personen, die ihm nahe standen, voll Zärtlichkeit. Man verspürt bei ihm und seiner Art einen gewissen Einfluss von Cézanne.

 

Er starb ohne zu wissen, dass die Liebhaber seiner Kunst ihn niemals vergessen würden.

 

Ist das Paris? Tell verstand es, einen besonderen Augenblick einzufangen; hier die Anwesenheit der drei geheimnisvollen Personen im Vordergrund
Ist das Paris? Tell verstand es, einen besonderen Augenblick einzufangen; hier die Anwesenheit der drei geheimnisvollen Personen im Vordergrund
Die späte Zeit seines Lebens wo Tell Rochat, nunmehr in Pied-du-Jura lebend, Motive aus der Gegend malt; wie zum Beispiel diese bewundernswerten Garben, welche beinahe lebendig erscheinen und ihre Köpfe wie als Zeichen der Andacht senken
Die späte Zeit seines Lebens wo Tell Rochat, nunmehr in Pied-du-Jura lebend, Motive aus der Gegend malt; wie zum Beispiel diese bewundernswerten Garben, welche beinahe lebendig erscheinen und ihre Köpfe wie als Zeichen der Andacht senken
Ein Stilleben in dem Tell Rochat vielleicht den Gipfel seiner Kunst erreicht hat
Ein Stilleben in dem Tell Rochat vielleicht den Gipfel seiner Kunst erreicht hat