Board 3




A cheese-producing village

 

The first cheesemonger dates from 1811. Before that, the usage of a turning system is revealed by just one single document. This system, consequently forgotten, was used within one or the other quarters of the village instead of its entirety. The milk of several producers was blended at the same time and the cheese was thus produced in turns at each of the producers. This required moving the equipment every time - a complicated situation, but in the past, everybody participated. The volume of the contributed milk was inscribed on sticks.

 

The cheese of the production – since money wasn’t the point - belonged to the one who had made the biggest total contribution of milk. Afterwards, the cheese became the property of the second largest contributor and so it went on. Then, everything would be erased and started again.

 

French and Belgium captives from 1916 are transporting boxes full of Vacherin cheese from the Rochat – Golay enterprise to the buildings of the Mon-Désir hotel
French and Belgium captives from 1916 are transporting boxes full of Vacherin cheese from the Rochat – Golay enterprise to the buildings of the Mon-Désir hotel

 

This system still continues with the appearance of the first dairy shop, only the manufacture takes place now in one fixed place.

 

Then came the introduction of book-keeping, then the payment for cheese with money, and finally, the sale of the milk to the dairyman who was thus in charge of the entirety of the manufacture of cheeses.

 

Le Caprice, a cliché by the photographer Fred Boissonnas (1858 – 1946). Le Grand Bazar, the most important cheese trader in the centre, the farm of Zélie Rochat, Henri’s mother, on the right
Le Caprice, a cliché by the photographer Fred Boissonnas (1858 – 1946). Le Grand Bazar, the most important cheese trader in the centre, the farm of Zélie Rochat, Henri’s mother, on the right

 

In Le Pont, one made gruyere - a hard-grain cheese - and tomes, goat cheese, reblochons - soft cheese. Of course, cream and quark were also produced there. These products could be exported to the neighbouring plains.

In terms of private manufacturing, two major figures also were involved in cheese production.

 

Henri Rochat-Golay, owner of the Chalet Suisse, came from Charbonnières and settled in Le Pont at the end of the 19th century. He became a major dealer in vacherins and other cheeses, which he bought from alpine producers in summer and from dairymen of that region during the bad season. His successors moved the company to Lausanne in the 1960s.

 

Henri Rochat-Golay (1866 - 1954), cheese trader and representative
Henri Rochat-Golay (1866 - 1954), cheese trader and representative
The Petit Jurassien (small jurassic cheese), an original cheese, created by François Rochat from Les Places
The Petit Jurassien (small jurassic cheese), an original cheese, created by François Rochat from Les Places

 

François Rochat, from Les Places, an area of houses above the village, built his Chalet Mont-d’Or. The name means that there they undertake refining the product of this name, vacherin cheeses. François Rochat was therefore a refiner by trade. He delivers his products via the railway to large cities in Switzerland and abroad, but, at the same time, he travelled the country in his little van and met his end clients. He was dynamic, and created a new cheese called ‘Le Petit Jurassien’.

 

The village of Le Pont recognized the importance of the dairy and alpine economy, which made it purchase, in 1844, the two alpine domains of la Dent: the ‘Lower Petite-Dent’ and the ‘Upper Petite-Dent’. You will see the two handsome alpine chalets on these properties if you have the desire – and the courage – the climb to the summit.

 

End of May – beginning of June, many herds of cows are run through the village of Le Pont to the mountain pasture
End of May – beginning of June, many herds of cows are run through the village of Le Pont to the mountain pasture
An earnest dairyman is stirring his curdling milk in the chalet La Petite-Dent Dessous
An earnest dairyman is stirring his curdling milk in the chalet La Petite-Dent Dessous

Tafel 3




Ein Dorf, das Käse produziert

 

Die erste Käserei wurde 1811 gegründet. Davor gibt es nur ein einziges Dokument, das von einem Drehsystem spricht. Dieses System, welches seither in Vergessenheit geraten ist, wurde in dem einen oder anderem Quartier des Dorfes benutzt, niemals aber im ganzen Ort. Es bestand darin, die Milch von mehreren Produzenten mischen zu lassen und somit den Käse der Reihe nach bei jedem von ihnen herzustellen. Man musste also das Material jedes Mal neu aufbauen, ein kompliziertes System, aber in der damaligen Zeit spielte man mit. Die Höhe der beigesteuerten Milch wurde auf Holzstäben eingetragen.

 

Der Käse des Tages, denn Geld spielte hierbei keine Rolle, gehörte demjenigen, der am meisten Milch beigetragen hatte. Der Käse danach war für denjenigen, der den zweitgrössten Beitrag getätigt hatte. Und so ging es weiter. Dann wurde alles gelöscht und man fing wieder von vorne an.

 

Französische und belgische Kriegsgefangene von 1916 transportieren Vacherinschachteln für die Unternehmung Rochat-Golay in die Gebäude des Hotels Mon-Désir
Französische und belgische Kriegsgefangene von 1916 transportieren Vacherinschachteln für die Unternehmung Rochat-Golay in die Gebäude des Hotels Mon-Désir

 

Dieses System wurde auch nach der Einführung der Käserei beibehalten, nur fand die Herstellung an einem festen Punkt statt.

 

Dann kam die Einführung der Buchführung und dann einer Vergütung in Form von Geld, und schliesslich der Verkauf der Milch an einen Milchhändler der für die Herstellung des Käses verantwortlich war.

 

Le Caprice, ein Klichee des Fotographen Fred Boissonnas (1858 - 1946). Le Grand Bazar, der wichtigste Käsehändler im Zentrum, mit dem Hof von Zélie Rochat, der Mutter von Henri rechts
Le Caprice, ein Klichee des Fotographen Fred Boissonnas (1858 - 1946). Le Grand Bazar, der wichtigste Käsehändler im Zentrum, mit dem Hof von Zélie Rochat, der Mutter von Henri rechts

 

In Le Pont stelle man Gruyère her - Hartkäse - und Tommes, Ziegenkäse und Reblochon - Weichkäse. Und natürlich produzierte man auch Rahm und Quark. Diese Produkte wurden dann in die Nachbargegend exportiert.

Auf privater Ebene kümmerten sich zwei Haupthändler um den Käse.

 

Henri Rochat-Golay, Besitzer des Chalet Suisse. Ursprünglich aus Charbonnières liess er sich Anfang des XIX. Jahrhunderts in Pont nieder. Er wurd ein Grosshändler für Vacherins und andere Käse, die er den Alpherstellern im Sommer und den Milchhändlern während der schlechten Saison abkaufte. Seine Nachfolger brachten die Unternehmung in den sechziger Jahren nach Lausanne.

 

Henri Rochat Golay (1866 - 1954), Käsehändler und Abgeordneter
Henri Rochat Golay (1866 - 1954), Käsehändler und Abgeordneter
Der Petit Jurassien (kleine Jurassier), ein von François Rochat von Les Places geschaffener Originalkäse
Der Petit Jurassien (kleine Jurassier), ein von François Rochat von Les Places geschaffener Originalkäse

 

François Rochat, aus Places, den Häusern oberhalb des Dorfes, baute seinerseits das Chalet Mont-d'Or. Der Name zeigt an, dass man dort die Reifung eines Produkts gleichen Namens vornahm, nämlich des Vacherins.  François Rochat war also Veredler von Beruf. Er lieferte seine Ware mit Hilfe der Bahnlinie aus, seine Produkte gingen bis in die grossen Städte der Schweiz und sogar ins Ausland; aber gleichzeitig fuhr er mit seinem Lieferwagen durch die Gegend und traf dort den Kleinkunden. Er war dynamisch und hatte einen neuen Käse geschaffen, den man den "Petit Jurassien" (kleinen Jurassier) nannte.

   

Das Dorf Le Pont hatte die Wichtigkeit der Milch- und Alpwirtschaft erkannt. Aus diesem Grund kaufte es 1844 die beiden Almen der Dent zurück, die Petite-Dent-dessous und die Petite-Dent-dessus. Sie stossen auf die beiden wunderschönen Alphütten, wenn Sie die Lust und der Mut packt, auf diesen Gipfel zu steigen.

 

Ende Mai - Anfang Juni werden viele Herden auf die Alm gebracht und durchqueren das Dorf von Le Pont
Ende Mai - Anfang Juni werden viele Herden auf die Alm gebracht und durchqueren das Dorf von Le Pont
Ein braver Senner rührt seine gerinnende Milch im Chalet La Petite-Dent Dessous
Ein braver Senner rührt seine gerinnende Milch im Chalet La Petite-Dent Dessous