Panel 2




A very lively square

This owes its interest, above all, to two main buildings: the Hôtel de la Truite (the Trout Hotel) and the Post Office

The Hotel

 

The Hotel de la Truite can be considered to be the oldest building in the Vallée. Although documents don’t mention it before 1662, we can suppose that it is a good hundred years older, going back to the beginning of the village itself at the start of the 16th century. This fact stems from the special situation of settlement along the shore of Lac de Joux, at the entrance of the Valley, if you proceed from Pétra-Félix (Mollendruz) or Vallorbe, or even if you come from Mouthe, on France.

 

Edgar Rochat from Le Pont (1945 – 1929), as a very proud carabinier. Illustrated on 31st August 1926
Edgar Rochat from Le Pont (1945 – 1929), as a very proud carabinier. Illustrated on 31st August 1926
The „Trois Grâces“ („three Highnesses“), girls or young ladies at the service of Edgar Rochat, owner of the “Hotel de la Truite” (Trout Hotel)
The „Trois Grâces“ („three Highnesses“), girls or young ladies at the service of Edgar Rochat, owner of the “Hotel de la Truite” (Trout Hotel)

 

This Hotel, to which was attached for a long time the general concession for the fishing on the Lac de Joux, was for several centuries under the ownership of a family Rochat of Le Pont. Later it passed into the hands of the village of the abbey. It is owned today, and has been for a hundred years century, by the family Lehmann, which manages it with great care. Its sign shows the heraldic arms of the village. It was struck by fire. It received leading guests.

 

Leaving a few deeply saddened young girls behind, the Belgium and French captives go back home in 1916
Leaving a few deeply saddened young girls behind, the Belgium and French captives go back home in 1916

 

It was witness to numerous major demonstrations in the square or nearby. To name a few: the inauguration of the railway at Le Pont - Vallorbe in 1886; that of the railway at Le Pont– Le Brassus in 1899; the reception of Belgian as well as French refugees in 1916.

 

One of his tenants deserves special attention: Edgar Rochat. Besides being the hotelkeeper, he initiated the exploitation of ice on Lake Brenet, was involved in passenger transportation, and traded in vacherin cheeses and combustible fuels, notably peat.

 

An Escher engraving, 1784. After a miraculous catch, a fisher and his wife are returning home. Baskets, rods or fishing rods, straps and oars are their equipment
An Escher engraving, 1784. After a miraculous catch, a fisher and his wife are returning home. Baskets, rods or fishing rods, straps and oars are their equipment

The Post Office

 

The house of the bottom of the square housed the village’s first post office, founded in 1830. It remained there until 1872, when it was transferred into the adjacent building, facing the restaurant, where it occupied both ends in turn.

 

Telegraph services at Le Pont in 1860; the telephone in 1896.

 

The Post Office, with the wire equipment for transmitting telegrams on the roof
The Post Office, with the wire equipment for transmitting telegrams on the roof

The Place de la Truite (Trout Square) is where the mail stagecoaches arrived from Cossonay. This continued until 1886, when, following the building of the railway, Le Brassus no longer had to be reached from both sides of the Lac de Joux. In 1899, the stagecoach abandoned the western shore, which was consequently served by the train. From that time on, the stagecoach only served the eastern shore. In 1920, the Société des Auto-transports de la Vallée de Joux AVJ was created, which still continues its activities to this day.

 

In the old post office building, owned by Edgar Rochat who also had his farm there, the owner created a newsstand for the use of his daughter, Rachel. Here could be found newspapers and magazines, tourist literature and equipment, as well as traditional souvenirs, objects which meet with the approval of the many visitors drawn more and more frequently to the place.

 

It is close to this Place de la Truite on the lake that ice-skating contests were organized. From here, too, sledging tours departed. Numerous photographs testify to the many activities.

 

The square’s fountain, “du Pavé” (of pavement), used to be situated midway between the Post office and the Trout Hotel. It was soon moved to under the big linden, which is estimated a little over a hundred and fifty years of age.

 

This fountain was always uncovered, as were all the others of the village. As far as we know, Edgar Rochat was the only one who worried about the fate of our washing-women and washers to recommend the usage of covers to improve their working conditions. His words fell on deaf ears.

 

Ice collection from the grottos in Le Pont, 1881 – 1882. Most of it is still done manually. The number of employees is impressive
Ice collection from the grottos in Le Pont, 1881 – 1882. Most of it is still done manually. The number of employees is impressive
A lithography from the beginning of the 20th century. What joy!
A lithography from the beginning of the 20th century. What joy!

Tafel 2




Ein sehr lebendiger Platz

Dieser Platz ist vor allem wegen seiner beiden Hauptgebäude interessant: das "Hôtel de la Truite" (Hotel der Forelle) und die Post

Das Hotel

 

Das Hôtel de la Truite kann als eines der ältesten Gebäude dieser Art in der Region betrachtet werden. Wenn man auch eine schriftliche Spur von ihm erst 1662 findet, kann man davon ausgehen, dass es gut ein Jahrhundert älter ist, geboren zum gleichen Zeitpunkt wie das Dorf zu Beginn des XVI. Jahrhunderts. Dies erklärt sich durch die aussergewöhnlichen Lage der Agglomeration am Seeufers des Lac de Joux direkt am Eingang des Vallées wenn man von Pétra-Felix (Mollendruz) oder Vallorbe her kommt. Oder auch bei Anfahrt von Mouthe in Frankreich.

 

Edgar Rochat von Le Pont (1945-1929), als stolzer Carabinier. Illustriert am 31. August 1926
Edgar Rochat von Le Pont (1945-1929), als stolzer Carabinier. Illustriert am 31. August 1926
Die "Trois Grâces" („Drei Hoheiten“), Mädchen oder junge Damen im Dienst von Edgar Rochat, dem Inhaber des Hôtel de la Truite (Forellenhotels)
Die "Trois Grâces" („Drei Hoheiten“), Mädchen oder junge Damen im Dienst von Edgar Rochat, dem Inhaber des Hôtel de la Truite (Forellenhotels)

 

Dieses Hotel, das lange Zeit über die Konzession für die Fischerei verfügte, war während mehreren Jahrhunderten in Besitz einer Familie Rochat aus Le Pont. Es wurde später Besitz der Gemeindeabtei. Heute, seit ungefähr einem Jahrhundert, gehörte es der Familie Lehmann, die es mit grösster Sorgfalt verwaltet. Sein Schild zeigt die Wappen des Dorfes. Es hat einen Brand überstanden. Es empfing hochrangige Gäste.

 

Die belgischen oder französischen Kriegsgefangenen von 1916 kehren nach Hause zurück und lassen einige zutiefst betrübte junge Mädchen zurück
Die belgischen oder französischen Kriegsgefangenen von 1916 kehren nach Hause zurück und lassen einige zutiefst betrübte junge Mädchen zurück

 

Es war Zeuge zahlreicher grandioser Veranstaltungen, auf dem Dorfplatz oder in der Nähe.  Lassen Sie uns aufzählen: die Einweihung der Bahnlinie Le Pont - Vallorbe in 1886 - die Einweihung der Bahnlinie Le Pont - Le Brassus in 1899 - die Aufnahme von Flüchtlingen sowohl aus Belgien als auch Frankreich in 1916.

 

Einer seiner Inhaber verdient unsere Aufmerksamkeit: Edgar Rochat. Er war, ausser Hotelbesitzer, der Initiator des Eisabbaus am Lac Brenet, fuhr Reisende und handelte mit Vacherins, Brennstoff und Torf.

 

Eine Gravur von Escher, 1784. Nach einem "wundersamen" Fischfang kehren ein Fischer und seine Frau in ihr Heim zurück. Körbe, Stangen oder Angelruten, Riemen und Ruder; das war ihr Material
Eine Gravur von Escher, 1784. Nach einem "wundersamen" Fischfang kehren ein Fischer und seine Frau in ihr Heim zurück. Körbe, Stangen oder Angelruten, Riemen und Ruder; das war ihr Material

Die Post

   

Das Haus am Ende des Dorfplatzes wurde gegen 1830 als erstes Postbüro eingeweiht. Es blieb dort bis 1872, das Jahr, wo es ins Nachbargebäude verlegt wurde, in dem es nacheinander die beiden äusseren Bereiche belegte.

 

Der Telegraf erreichte Le Pont in 1860, das Telefon in 1896.

 

Die Post, wo man auf dem Dach die Drahtanlage zur Übermittlung von Telegrammen sehen kann
Die Post, wo man auf dem Dach die Drahtanlage zur Übermittlung von Telegrammen sehen kann

La Place de la Truite (der Platz der Forelle) war der Ort, wo die Postkutschen aus Cossoney eintrafen. Dies ging so bis 1886, das Jahr, in dem die Eisenbahnlinie gebaut wurde und man somit Le Brassus von beiden Seiten des Sees aus erreichen konnte.  In 1899 hörten die Kutschen auf, die westliche Uferseite zu beliefern, welche ab diesem Zeitpunkt durch den Zug bedient wurde und befuhr nur noch die östliche Seite. Dies bis 1920, in dem die Société des Auto-transports de la vallée de Joux AVJ (Gesellschaft des Autotransports Vallée de Joux AVJ) gegründet wurde. Diese führt ihre Aktivitäten noch immer.

 

Im ehemaligen Postbüro, Eigentum von Edgar Rochat, der dort ebenfalls seinen Hof hatte, erbaute der Besitzer einen Kiosk, den seine Tochter Rachel betrieb. Man fand dort Zeitungen und Zeitschriften sowie zweckmässiges Material für Touristen und auch traditionelle Souvenirs, die unsere Besucher, welche immer zahlreicher eintrafen, einstimmig zufrieden stellten.

 

In der Nähe dieses Platzes "De la truite" auf dem See wurden Ski- oder Eislaufrennen organisiert. Von dort fuhren auch die Schlittenfahrten los. Zahlreiche Photos sind Zeugen dieser verschiedenen Aktivitäten.

 

Der Brunnen an diesem Ort, Steinbrunnen genannt, war damals in der Mitte zwischen der Poste und dem Hotel, und wurde dann unter den grossen Lindenbaum verlegt, dem heute ein Alter von etwas hundertfünfzig Jahren errechnet wird.

 

Dieser Brunnen war schon immer unbedeckt, genau so wie alle anderen des Dorfs. Edgar Rochat war der einzige, gemäss unseres Wissenstands, der sich um das Wohlergehen der Waschfrauen oder Wäscherinnen sorgte und eine Abdeckung vorschlug, um die Arbeitsbedingungen zu verbessern. Er wurde nicht angehört.

 

Eis wird aus den Grotten von Le Pont geholt, 1881 - 1882. Der Grossteil der Arbeit wird noch von Hand erledigt. Die Zahl der Angestellten ist beeindruckend
Eis wird aus den Grotten von Le Pont geholt, 1881 - 1882. Der Grossteil der Arbeit wird noch von Hand erledigt. Die Zahl der Angestellten ist beeindruckend
Eine Lithographie am Anfang des XX. Jahrhunderts. Freude herrscht!
Eine Lithographie am Anfang des XX. Jahrhunderts. Freude herrscht!