Board 1 (back side)




The communications in the Valley

Sometimes difficult conditions

 

You probably arrived at the Vallée de Joux by car, by train or maybe even by bike or on foot!

 

Train lines arrived from Vallorbe into the Vallée as of 1886. Their construction had been decided by the ice company of Le Pont which had its quarters near the lake of Brenet in 1879. They considered that such heavy and bulky charge should not be transported by carriers and horses from Vallorbe to Croy because these transports used to ruin the streets. Using the rail seemed much more adapted. This project was soon taken up by a company called the Railway Le Pont-Vallorbe. The line was built within two years, starting in 1884. It brought with it the digging of the tunnel of Les Epoisats.

 

Winter 1907. It takes two locomotives to face the steep slope of Epinettes
Winter 1907. It takes two locomotives to face the steep slope of Epinettes

 

A navigation company was founded in 1889 which made it possible, though irregularly, to get to the other side of the Vallée with a little steamer called ‘Caprice’. At the same time, a stagecoach service went both ways within the valley.

 

The rail line Le Pont - Les Brassus, a direct extension of the line Le Pont-Vallorbe, was inaugurated in 1899. The line Vallorbe-Le Brassus offered a widely appreciated service of the area, even though one must also state that they often found themselves in deficit position due to the high maintenance cost linked to mobile and fixed material exposed to tough mountain climate.

 

Inauguration of "Le Pont-Vallorbe" on 30th October 1886
Inauguration of "Le Pont-Vallorbe" on 30th October 1886
"Le Pont-Brassus" was inaugurated on 19th August 1899
"Le Pont-Brassus" was inaugurated on 19th August 1899

 

Soon after this last leg became operational, the stagecoach service on the west bank of the river was discontinued. It continued its service on the other side of the riverbank which wasn’t connected to the railway yet. It was replaced by the services of the car transport company of the Vallée de Joux (AVJ) as of 1920.  

 

The street was nevertheless of first priority. You can get to the valley through the Mollendruz pass from Mount-la-Ville, through the one from Pétra-Félix, from Vaulion?–?and the two streets join on this site. You can also reach it by going through the pass of Mont d’Orzeires, starting from Vallorbe and passing through a border passage called Poteau (pole) as well as the important French village of Mouthe along the villages of Charbonnière or Séchey. 

 

At the far west of the valley, a road leads to Bois-d’Amont – Les Rousses to the Vallée, whereas a direct way to the plains from Les Brassus can be taken through the pass of Marchairuz. This road was built in the middle of the 18th century. For many years, it was closed during winter because of heavy snowfall on its higher parts, but now, it is open all year.

 

The first bus of the AVJ
The first bus of the AVJ

 

Let us note that the junction with Vallorbe used to be reached through the street of Les Epoisats which follows the base of the Dent de Vaulion. You can see a segment of this old street during your Romantic walkway. The landmarks that bordered the street can still be seen when ascending the church.  

 

When Moïse Rochat opened the roads of the Valley
When Moïse Rochat opened the roads of the Valley

 

The difficulty to maintain such a network of transports during the winter, streets and rail alike, must have been considerable. But with enough determination, they always managed to disengage the way. We must note nevertheless that in the beginning of 1907 and due to enormous snowfall, the train was blocked for four days in Les Brassus, from 2nd to 6th February. Many pictures witness of these exceptional days during which the number of workers equipped with a shovel was simply amazing.

 

Nowadays, our trains and buses offer efficient services in all situations.

 

The old road from Le Pont to Vallorbe by the valley of the Epoisats was formidable during winter
The old road from Le Pont to Vallorbe by the valley of the Epoisats was formidable during winter

 

One of the ‘visitors’ of that time, in the beginning of the 20th century, wrote the following in a moving and grateful letter he sent to his hosts :

The Vallée de Joux, sojourn of good days !

 

The boat "Caprice II" animates in summer our beautiful "Lac de Joux" © Edition Deriaz Baulmes
The boat "Caprice II" animates in summer our beautiful "Lac de Joux" © Edition Deriaz Baulmes

Political system

 

The Vallée de Joux is formed by three municipalities : Le Lieu – L’Abbaye — Le Chenit.

 

The village Le Pont, as well as the villages of L’Abbaye and Bioux, band together as the municipality of L’Abbaye whose creation dates back to 1571, the time it detached itself from the mother municipality Le Lieu. The three villages make up the municipality of L’Abbaye, but have this particularity: they each have their own administration with a board as executive power led by its head, the president of the village, and a general council as legislative power. 

 

Coat of Arms of L’Abbaye

Coat of Arms of Le Pont

Coat of Arms of Les Bioux


 

The village of Le Pont has its own church, mountains, three cottages and many forests. The school also used to be within its legal competences. 

 

This particular administration, assimilated with a split from the commune on legal grounds in 1710, the time of a debate on fractioning the general commune into three entirely independent entities. This project was only partially carried out with the structure of these three administrations in each village at the time. 

 

The split of the pastures, until then dealt with by the commune, was arranged only 50 years later, on the 5th of September 1768. This had provoked numerous discussions and the organisation of a major legal arsenal. The issue stirred up a lot of noise, to the point that later on, it was this date that was considered as the founding date of these three villages, which in reality had taken place half a century earlier.

 

Each one has its own coat of arms except for the village of L’Abbaye whose coat of arms is the same as the general commune one.

Tafel 1 (rückseite)




Die Mitteilungen im tal

Manchmal schwierigen Bedingungen

 

Vermutlich sind Sie heute entweder mit dem Auto oder mit dem Zug angereist, vielleicht auch mit dem Fahrrad oder sogar zu Fuss!  

 

Der Zug erreicht das Tal ab Vallorbe seit 1886. Seine Erbauung wurde durch die Eisgesellschaft von Le Pont, welche sich am Ufer des Sees Brenet in 1879 niederliess, entschieden. Ihre Mitglieder sahen es als notwendig an, eine so voluminöse und schwere Last wie Eis nicht länger mit Pferd und Wagen von Vallorbe bis Croy zu transportieren, zumal dadurch die Strassen kaputtgingen und sie beschlossen, den Transport auf die Schiene zu verlegen. Dieses Projekt wurde sehr schnell von der Eisenbahngesellschaft von Le Pont-Vallorbe aufgenommen. Die Linie wurde ab 1884 und innerhalb von zwei Jahren gebaut. Dies brachte den neuen Tunnel von Les Epoisats mit sich.  

 

Winter 1907. Es braucht zwei Lokomotiven, um dem steilen Hang von Epinettes zu begegnen
Winter 1907. Es braucht zwei Lokomotiven, um dem steilen Hang von Epinettes zu begegnen

 

1889 wurde eine Navigationsgesellschaft gegründet. Diese ermöglichte es, wenn auch auf unregelmässiger Basis, das andere Ende des Tals mit einem kleinen Dampfschiff namens „Caprice“ zu erreichen. Gleichzeitig fuhren Kutschen auf beiden Seiten des Tals.  

 

Die Zuglinie Le Pont-Brassus, welche eine direkte Verlängerung der Linie Le Pont-Vallorbe war, wurde 1899 eingeweiht. Die Linie Vallorbe-Le Brassus leistete einen wichtigen Dienst für die Region. Allerdings befand sie sich häufig in den roten Zahlen aufgrund der hohen Kosten von festen oder mobilen Materialien die einem strengen Gebirgsklima ausgesetzt waren.

 

Einweihung von "Le Pont-Vallorbe" am 30. Oktober 1886
Einweihung von "Le Pont-Vallorbe" am 30. Oktober 1886
"Le Pont-Brassus" wurde am 19. August 1899 eingeweiht
"Le Pont-Brassus" wurde am 19. August 1899 eingeweiht

 

Nachdem diese letzte Station eingeweiht worden war, wurde der Kutschendienst auf der Westseite des Ufers eingestellt. Auf der Ostseite hingegen bestand dieser noch weitere zwanzig Jahre, da hier keine Eisenbahnlinie existierte. Die Kutschen wurden erst durch die Dienste eines Autotransportunternehmens, der Compagnie auto-transports Vallée de Joux (AVJ), abgelöst.   

 

Die Strasse behält weiterhin allergrösste Wichtigkeit. Man fährt ab Mont-la-Ville über den Mollendruz-Pass in das Tal hinein; oder sonst über den Pass von Pétra-Felix, ab Vaulion - beide Strassen treffen an dieser Stelle zusammen. Man kann auch über den Pass von Mont d‘Orzeires ab Vallorbe dorthin gelangen, über den Grenzweg der „Poteau“ (Pfosten) genannt wird, dies ab der wichtigen französischen Ortschaft Mouthe und via die Dörfer von Charbonnières oder Séchey.   

 

Ganz im Westen des Tals führt eine Strasse zu Bois-d‘Amont - Les Rousses, während die direkte Linie mit der Ebene ab Le Brassus über den Marchairuz-Pass führt. Diese Strasse wurde Mitte des 18. Jahrhunderts gebaut. Früher war sie im Winter aufgrund starker Schneefälle in den Höhenlagen während langer Zeit geschlossen. Jetzt aber kann sie das ganze Jahr hindurch benutzt werden. 

 

Der erste Bus der AVJ
Der erste Bus der AVJ

 

Früher bestand die Verbindung mit Vallorbe über die Strasse von Les Epoisats, welche sich am Fuss des Berges Dent de Vaulion dahinschlängelt. Man kann einen Teil dieser alten Strasse während des romantischen Spaziergangs noch sehen. Die Wegsteine, welche die Strasse abgrenzten, sind heute noch beim Anstieg in Richtung Kirche zu sehen.

 

Als Moïse Rochat die Strassen des Tals öffnete
Als Moïse Rochat die Strassen des Tals öffnete

 

Die Schwierigkeiten, das Strassen- und Schienennetzwerk im Winter aufrecht zu halten waren sicherlich beträchtlich. Mit genügend Ausdauer schaffte man es aber immer, alles freizuschaufeln. Wir sollten uns aber dennoch in Erinnerung behalten, dass Anfang 1907 der Zug während vier Tagen in Folge starker Schneefälle in Les Brassus steckengeblieben war. Zahlreiche Fotos bezeugen, dass während dieser aussergewöhlichen Tage die Anzahl der Arbeiter mit Schaufeln schlichtweg unglaublich war.

 

Heute bieten, unter beinahe allen Umständen, Züge und Busse immer effiziente Dienste an. 

 

Die alte Strasse von Le Pont nach Vallorbe durch das Tal der Epoisats war im Winter schrecklich
Die alte Strasse von Le Pont nach Vallorbe durch das Tal der Epoisats war im Winter schrecklich

 

Ein damaliger „Besucher“, Anfang des XX. Jahrhunderts, hatte folgendes in seinem Dankesbrief an seine Gastgeber geschrieben :

Vallée de Joux, ein Aufenthalt schöner Tage !

  

Das Boot "Caprice II" belebt im Sommer unseren schönen See "Lac de Joux" © Edition Deriaz Baulmes
Das Boot "Caprice II" belebt im Sommer unseren schönen See "Lac de Joux" © Edition Deriaz Baulmes

Politisches System

 

Das Vallée de Joux besteht aus drei Gemeinden:  Le Lieu – L’Abbaye – Le Chenit.

 

Die Dörfer Le Pont sowie L‘Abbaye et Les Bioux gehören zur Gemeinde L’Abbaye, deren Gründung 1571 nach dem Austritt aus der Muttergemeinde Le Lieu folgte. Obwohl diese 3 Dörfer gemeinsam die Gemeinde L‘Abbeye bilden, hat jedes einzelne seine eigenen unabhängigen Behörden. Dazu gehört ein Verwaltungsrat als Exekutive mit einem Ortspräsidenten an oberster Stelle, und der Gemeinderat als Legislative.  

 

Wappen von L’Abbaye

Wappen von Le Pont

Wappen von Les Bioux


 

Das Dorf von Le Pont hat ausserdem seine eigene Kirche, Berge mit drei Berghütten sowohl zahlreiche Wälder. Früher gehörte auch die Schule in seinen Kompetenzbereich.  

 

Diese spezielle Verwaltung, welche legal einer der Gemeinden untergeordnet ist, wurde 1710 geschaffen; damals sprach man von einer Unterteilung des Gemeinderats in drei unabhängige Einheiten. Dieses Projekt wurde jedoch nur teilweise durch die Einführung der drei Verwaltungen innerhalb der damaligen Dörfer umgesetzt.

 

Die Unterteilung der Weideflächen, damals durch die Gemeinden organisiert, wurde erst ein halbes Jahrhundert später, am 5. September 1768 durchgeführt. Hierrüber entfachten sich zahlreiche Diskussionen und man benötigte ein grosses juristisches Arsenal. Dieses Thema verursachte so viel Lärm, dass es sogar so weit ging, dass man dieses Datum als das eigentliche Gründungsdatum der drei Gemeinden ansieht, auch wenn das wahre Datum ein halbes Jahrhundert früher liegt. 

 

Jede dieser drei Gemeinden hat ihr eigenes Wappen, ausser dem Dorf L‘Abbeye, dessen Wappen identisch mit dem Zeichen des Gemeinderats ist.